Macrogenics Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Macrogenics Inc had return on equity of -86.9%, an operating margin of -48.7%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 5.10. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 100.0% | 100.0% | 96.6% | 97.8% | 98.9% | 99.4% | 100.0% | — |
| Operating margin | 9.2% | 12.9% | 0.6% | −80.2% | −20.0% | −65.3% | −14.0% | −284.8% | −276.0% | −125.0% | −261.9% | −79.9% | −286.4% | −73.7% | −48.7% | −24.3% |
| Net margin | 11.7% | 13.1% | −0.4% | −80.2% | −20.0% | −63.7% | −12.4% | −285.2% | −236.5% | −123.7% | −261.0% | −78.8% | −15.4% | −44.7% | −49.9% | −8.7% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 10.9% | −11.8% | −29.5% | −76.0% | −22.7% | −59.9% | −9.5% | −296.4% | −215.9% | −112.3% | −193.7% | −59.6% | −136.1% | −48.1% | −55.5% | −39.1% |
| Return on equity | — | — | −0.7% | −38.3% | −9.3% | −20.1% | −6.9% | −63.3% | −64.1% | −49.3% | −75.5% | −62.8% | −6.1% | −49.9% | −86.9% | −29.6% |
| Return on assets | — | 15.6% | −0.3% | −25.6% | −7.6% | −17.5% | −5.7% | −48.6% | −47.1% | −37.5% | −56.6% | −38.9% | −3.1% | −23.9% | −28.8% | −4.8% |
| Asset turnover | — | 1.19 | 0.65 | 0.32 | 0.38 | 0.27 | 0.46 | 0.17 | 0.20 | 0.30 | 0.22 | 0.49 | 0.20 | 0.54 | 0.58 | 0.56 |
| Current ratio | — | 1.68 | 4.14 | 6.08 | 14.15 | 10.40 | 6.48 | 4.49 | 5.31 | 6.17 | 3.75 | 4.57 | 4.48 | 3.92 | 5.10 | 2.96 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| R&D as % of revenue | 71.8% | 71.2% | 80.3% | 146.8% | 97.4% | 132.9% | 93.3% | 317.4% | 304.3% | 184.2% | 277.1% | 136.3% | 283.6% | 118.2% | 98.4% | 83.8% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.9% | 1.5% | 5.1% | 7.5% | 9.1% | 12.4% | 18.6% | 41.5% | 6.7% | 5.6% | 8.0% | 2.4% | 3.0% | 2.5% | 1.3% | 1.1% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 93.2% | −90.0% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 99.8% | 98.8% | 100.0% | 100.0% | 100.0% | 100.0% | — | — |
| Operating margin | 48.9% | −273.0% | −323.1% | −629.3% | 25.6% | −29.3% | −161.0% | −42.2% |
| Net margin | 50.9% | −79.7% | −311.1% | −527.7% | 23.1% | −34.3% | −177.0% | 59.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 53.8% | −201.7% | −359.5% | −694.4% | −42.0% | 103.8% | −174.0% | −126.6% |
| Current ratio | 3.75 | 3.92 | 3.28 | 5.25 | 5.22 | 5.10 | 1.90 | 2.96 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 36.6% | 201.0% | 300.9% | 593.8% | 44.9% | 82.4% | 168.3% | 118.1% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $322m of assets due within a year against $109m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $322m short-term assets against $194m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$41m against $17m of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Macrogenics's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Net income has been a median -35.4% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 20 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 99.2%, moving by 1.2 percentage points (standard deviation) across 6 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -163.5%; its worst year was -1232.3%.
- Cash conversion 1 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 1 of 10 years, at a median -137.4% of revenue.
- Discipline 3 / 20
The diluted share count rose 11.2% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 22.6% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (34 before it).
Compare with peers
- Immunitybio, Inc. statistics
- Nuvation Bio Inc. statistics
- Beam Therapeutics Inc. statistics
- Arbutus Biopharma Corp statistics
- Urogen Pharma Ltd. statistics
Head to head: IBRX vs MGNXMGNX vs NUVBBEAM vs MGNX
More: Biotechnology stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies