NLI Holdings, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, NLI Holdings, Inc. had return on equity of -10.0%, an operating margin of 6.7%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 7.77. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 20.5% | 29.5% | 30.2% | 29.2% | 30.0% | 31.1% | 30.6% | 32.3% | 31.1% | 32.4% | 31.4% | 28.7% | 30.4% | 29.3% | 30.5% | 28.3% | 30.4% | 32.1% |
| Operating margin | −10.0% | −23.3% | −0.8% | −9.7% | −74.2% | 2.7% | 0.2% | −0.7% | 1.5% | −51.3% | −1.3% | 2.1% | 7.5% | 8.2% | 8.8% | 26.0% | 6.7% | 9.2% |
| Net margin | −10.1% | 92.4% | 102.3% | 89.6% | −60.1% | 27.4% | −21.9% | 14.1% | 103.6% | −34.7% | 20.8% | 12.8% | 36.4% | 20.3% | −1.4% | 46.1% | −23.9% | −15.8% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −0.8% | 4.3% | 56.3% | 16.1% | 12.3% | 19.9% | 21.8% | 22.5% | 14.1% | 11.8% | 19.5% | 15.1% | 9.6% | 14.0% | 22.2% | 16.5% | −25.4% | 5.0% |
| Return on equity | −6.3% | 32.1% | 24.5% | 18.9% | −15.2% | 9.6% | −12.4% | 9.3% | 45.2% | −13.2% | 8.8% | 4.8% | 15.2% | 9.1% | −0.6% | 17.5% | −10.0% | −7.1% |
| Return on assets | — | 12.7% | 12.4% | 10.3% | −8.1% | 4.8% | −5.7% | 4.2% | 24.8% | −7.5% | 4.7% | 2.7% | 8.9% | 5.6% | −0.4% | 11.6% | −7.3% | −5.5% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.14 | 0.12 | 0.12 | 0.13 | 0.18 | 0.26 | 0.30 | 0.24 | 0.22 | 0.22 | 0.21 | 0.25 | 0.28 | 0.27 | 0.25 | 0.30 | 0.35 |
| Current ratio | — | 1.81 | 1.43 | 4.55 | 4.43 | 4.20 | 5.20 | 4.02 | 6.67 | 2.05 | 5.52 | 6.22 | 6.33 | 6.05 | 7.17 | 2.61 | 7.77 | 9.02 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 29.5% | 9.0% | 4.9% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | — | — | n/m | 56.6x | n/m | n/m | 1.7x | 9.2x | 14.6x | 18.9x | 71.5x | 13.9x | 121.7x |
| Effective tax rate | — | 33.8% | 20.1% | 25.8% | — | 14.4% | — | −20.0% | −5.0% | — | 2.0% | −18.5% | 12.3% | 7.1% | — | 16.9% | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | — |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 19.0% | 21.1% | 20.7% | 21.3% | 19.8% | 18.0% | 17.8% | 18.0% | 17.5% | 17.3% | 17.1% | 18.4% | 15.8% | 14.0% | 14.7% | 16.7% | 16.2% | 15.8% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 2.0% | 2.8% | 4.1% | 5.5% | 3.8% | 2.8% | 3.9% | 2.9% | 2.5% | 2.6% | 2.5% | 1.5% | 2.9% | 2.2% | 0.7% | 1.0% | 2.4% | 1.9% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | 4.7% | 55.1% | 18.0% | — | 72.6% | — | 159.8% | 13.6% | — | 93.9% | 117.7% | 26.4% | 68.7% | — | 35.9% | — | — |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | 34.5% | 29.8% | 32.6% | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | — | 0.0% | 53.1% | 22.9% | 40.5% | — | 23.2% | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | 739.9% | 54.1% | 181.1% | 214.1% | — | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 45.1% | 86.6% | 59.0% | 38.2% | 64.6% | — | 229.3% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 28.1% | 28.8% | 30.2% | 31.9% | 27.6% | 32.1% | 32.7% | 35.6% |
| Operating margin | 6.0% | 87.7% | 7.8% | 6.9% | 4.6% | 7.6% | 10.1% | 14.1% |
| Net margin | 107.0% | 43.1% | 1.7% | 0.9% | −19.7% | −82.2% | 10.7% | 20.5% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −18.3% | 22.8% | −119.9% | 14.7% | 17.4% | −12.6% | −9.7% | 22.6% |
| Current ratio | 6.72 | 2.61 | 5.81 | 5.41 | 4.96 | 7.77 | 10.65 | 9.02 |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 18.2% | 16.1% | 15.6% | 16.3% | 15.7% | 17.1% | 15.3% | 15.2% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $164m of assets due within a year against $18m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities Not assessable from the reported split. Not assessable.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $15m against $123,000 of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard NLI Holdings's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 2 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 3.2% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 11 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 30.7%, moving by 1.4 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 1 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 6.9%; its worst year was -55.3%.
- Cash conversion 17 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 9 of 10 years, at a median 15.7% of revenue.
- Discipline 12 / 20
The diluted share count rose 0.2% over five years.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Gevo, Inc. statistics
- Arq, Inc. statistics
- Aemetis, Inc statistics
- Northern Technologies International Corp statistics
- Flotek Industries Inc statistics
Head to head: GEVO vs NLARQ vs NLAMTX vs NLNL vs NTIC
More: Specialty Chemicals stocks compared, Materials sector, rankings of US companies