Park Ohio Holdings Corp key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Park Ohio Holdings Corp had return on equity of 6.7%, an operating margin of 4.1%, debt equal to 166.9% of equity and a current ratio of 2.33. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 14.8% | 16.5% | 17.4% | 18.4% | 17.5% | 17.0% | 16.1% | 15.8% | 16.5% | 16.4% | 16.1% | 14.6% | 12.2% | 14.1% | 16.4% | 17.0% | 17.0% | 17.3% |
| Operating margin | 1.5% | 4.8% | 6.3% | 7.1% | 7.1% | 7.1% | 6.7% | 4.9% | 5.9% | 5.9% | 5.1% | 1.6% | 1.3% | 2.2% | 5.1% | 5.2% | 4.1% | 4.3% |
| Net margin | −0.7% | 1.9% | 3.1% | 2.8% | 3.6% | 3.3% | 3.3% | 2.5% | 2.0% | 3.2% | 2.4% | −0.4% | −1.9% | −1.0% | 0.5% | 1.9% | 1.5% | 1.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 5.5% | 7.8% | 2.4% | 2.3% | 2.5% | 2.0% | 0.6% | 3.5% | 1.3% | 0.6% | 1.5% | 4.3% | −5.1% | −3.6% | 1.5% | 0.2% | 0.1% | 1.2% |
| Return on equity | −22.8% | 43.9% | 52.6% | 38.0% | 33.3% | 26.5% | 24.6% | 14.7% | 11.4% | 18.6% | 12.2% | −1.3% | −7.5% | −5.0% | 2.9% | 10.4% | 6.7% | 6.9% |
| Return on assets | — | 2.7% | 5.0% | 4.7% | 5.6% | 5.1% | 5.0% | 3.3% | 2.7% | 4.6% | 3.1% | −0.3% | −1.9% | −1.0% | 0.6% | 2.4% | 1.7% | 1.8% |
| Asset turnover | — | 1.47 | 1.65 | 1.68 | 1.56 | 1.54 | 1.53 | 1.33 | 1.34 | 1.42 | 1.28 | 0.88 | 0.96 | 1.07 | 1.20 | 1.22 | 1.15 | 1.15 |
| Current ratio | — | 2.28 | 2.64 | 2.43 | 2.51 | 2.21 | 2.44 | 2.28 | 2.43 | 2.41 | 2.38 | 2.30 | 2.22 | 2.08 | 2.27 | 2.32 | 2.33 | 2.40 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 274.0% | 531.1% | 371.9% | 241.3% | 239.1% | 228.0% | 212.4% | 197.2% | 192.9% | 169.4% | 155.3% | 190.1% | 260.9% | 230.3% | 190.1% | 166.9% | 170.3% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 0.5x | 1.6x | 1.9x | 3.1x | 3.3x | 3.8x | 3.5x | 2.2x | 2.7x | 2.8x | 2.5x | 0.7x | 0.6x | 1.0x | 1.9x | 1.8x | 1.4x | 1.4x |
| Effective tax rate | — | 11.8% | −13.6% | 37.2% | 32.2% | 34.7% | 30.4% | 21.5% | 38.2% | 23.1% | 27.7% | — | — | −6.5% | 20.5% | 11.0% | 11.8% | 11.4% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 12.5% | 11.3% | 10.6% | 10.1% | 10.0% | 9.9% | 9.2% | 10.5% | 10.8% | 10.6% | 10.9% | 12.2% | 12.2% | 10.9% | 10.9% | 11.3% | 11.9% | 12.1% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.8% | 0.5% | 1.3% | 2.6% | 2.5% | 1.9% | 2.5% | 2.2% | 2.0% | 2.7% | 2.5% | 1.8% | 1.7% | 1.8% | 1.7% | 1.9% | 2.5% | 2.8% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | 415.5% | 78.9% | 82.7% | 69.6% | 61.0% | 17.0% | 140.1% | 65.7% | 18.1% | 61.1% | — | — | — | 323.1% | 11.3% | 8.4% | 77.4% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | — | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 10.3% | 13.1% | 19.6% | 24.1% | 11.9% | 18.1% | — | — | — | 94.9% | 22.6% | 32.8% | 29.4% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 0.7% | 1.7% | 9.1% | 15.2% | 7.3% | 32.7% | 201.2% | 14.2% | 59.0% | 158.8% | 33.5% | 21.8% | — | — | 29.4% | 200.0% | 390.0% | 38.0% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 17.3% | 16.6% | 16.8% | 17.0% | 16.7% | 17.3% | 17.3% | 17.9% |
| Operating margin | 5.7% | 3.7% | 4.7% | 5.0% | 4.3% | 2.5% | 4.7% | 5.6% |
| Net margin | 2.3% | 0.1% | 2.0% | 2.3% | 1.3% | 0.3% | 1.9% | 2.7% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −0.0% | 4.5% | −4.8% | −5.3% | 1.7% | 9.1% | −4.8% | −0.4% |
| Current ratio | 2.45 | 2.32 | 2.41 | 2.60 | 2.56 | 2.33 | 2.40 | 2.40 |
| Debt to equity | 3.0% | 2.5% | 2.1% | 2.3% | 2.2% | 2.2% | 1.7% | 1.9% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 11.4% | 11.6% | 11.9% | 11.7% | 11.7% | 12.2% | 12.3% | 12.1% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $898m of assets due within a year against $374m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities Not assessable from the reported split. Not assessable.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $72m against $50m of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Park Ohio Holdings's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Net income has been a median 1.6% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 8 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 16.2%, moving by 1.4 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 7 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 4.5%; its worst year was 2.1%.
- Cash conversion 6 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 6 of 10 years, at a median 0.9% of revenue.
- Discipline 11 / 20
The diluted share count rose 16.9% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 0.4% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- AZZ Inc statistics
- Columbus Mckinnon Corp statistics
- Mueller Water Products, Inc. statistics
- Atmus Filtration Technologies Inc. statistics
- MSA Safety Inc statistics
Head to head: AZZ vs PKOHCMCO vs PKOHMWA vs PKOH
More: Industrial Machinery & Supplies & Components stocks compared, Industrials sector, rankings of US companies