Futurefuel Corp. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Futurefuel Corp. had return on equity of -26.8%, an operating margin of -55.3%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 6.12. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 17.7% | 18.8% | 20.3% | 16.9% | 23.0% | 21.8% | 24.3% | 18.5% | 7.4% | 25.2% | 36.1% | 15.3% | 7.3% | 7.3% | 11.1% | 8.1% | −41.2% | −11.1% |
| Operating margin | 12.8% | 14.7% | 16.9% | 13.6% | 20.7% | 18.5% | 20.0% | 14.4% | 3.6% | 21.8% | 31.8% | 10.9% | 4.0% | 4.4% | 7.4% | 2.6% | −55.3% | −20.8% |
| Net margin | 8.7% | 10.5% | 11.3% | 10.1% | 17.0% | 17.6% | 19.8% | 22.3% | 8.5% | 18.3% | 43.0% | 22.8% | 8.2% | 3.8% | 10.2% | 6.4% | −51.6% | −19.9% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 1.4% | 3.7% | 8.9% | 16.5% | 10.1% | 14.5% | 13.8% | 34.2% | 13.0% | 27.7% | 13.5% | 45.0% | 13.3% | 12.0% | 4.1% | 4.2% | −48.0% | −33.2% |
| Return on equity | 8.9% | 10.4% | 12.8% | 12.5% | 25.1% | 15.5% | 12.3% | 15.5% | 6.9% | 14.4% | 20.6% | 11.1% | 7.9% | 5.3% | 12.6% | 6.0% | −26.8% | −19.4% |
| Return on assets | — | 6.7% | 9.5% | 9.3% | 19.2% | 12.1% | 9.8% | 11.1% | 4.9% | 11.9% | 16.7% | 9.1% | 6.7% | 4.3% | 10.3% | 5.0% | −22.1% | −14.7% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.64 | 0.84 | 0.92 | 1.13 | 0.69 | 0.49 | 0.50 | 0.58 | 0.65 | 0.39 | 0.40 | 0.82 | 1.13 | 1.02 | 0.79 | 0.43 | 0.74 |
| Current ratio | — | 4.88 | 6.77 | 5.90 | 7.01 | 6.36 | 7.41 | 2.81 | 8.80 | 9.18 | 5.81 | 10.39 | 7.30 | 4.88 | 7.03 | 4.95 | 6.12 | 4.06 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 57.5x | — | — | 147.9x | 98.5x | 137.1x | 198.3x | 46.2x | n/m | n/m |
| Effective tax rate | 33.2% | 32.4% | 34.6% | 37.5% | 24.0% | 21.0% | 10.5% | −38.1% | −41.2% | 11.7% | −10.5% | −46.5% | — | −10.7% | 0.0% | 4.9% | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 2.1% | 1.6% | 1.2% | 1.0% | 0.8% | 1.0% | 1.2% | 1.1% | 1.3% | 1.2% | 1.6% | 1.5% | 1.1% | 0.9% | 1.2% | 1.6% | 4.0% | 2.0% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 4.9% | 4.2% | 3.3% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 2.0% | 2.5% | 3.8% | 10.1% | 7.7% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 11.9% | 4.4% | 7.6% | 2.7% | 4.3% | 2.7% | 3.1% | 1.8% | 1.3% | 1.7% | 3.4% | 2.2% | 0.5% | 1.2% | 1.6% | 6.0% | 18.0% | 13.8% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 16.0% | 35.4% | 78.9% | 162.6% | 59.3% | 82.4% | 69.8% | 153.5% | 152.1% | 151.9% | 31.4% | 197.4% | 162.4% | 313.4% | 40.9% | 65.4% | — | — |
| Dividends ÷ net income | 49.8% | 134.5% | 47.1% | 194.0% | 40.4% | 39.3% | 22.6% | 18.6% | 470.8% | 19.7% | 11.9% | 304.4% | 456.7% | 69.0% | 28.1% | 773.5% | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 310.8% | 380.2% | 59.7% | 119.3% | 68.1% | 47.7% | 32.4% | 12.1% | 309.5% | 13.0% | 37.9% | 154.2% | 281.3% | 22.0% | 68.8% | >999% | — | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 0.7% | 9.1% | −86.6% | −34.7% | −30.1% | −46.7% | −49.6% | 19.1% |
| Operating margin | −5.6% | 2.6% | −111.0% | −43.6% | −42.9% | −62.9% | −65.2% | 14.3% |
| Net margin | −2.3% | 4.5% | −103.2% | −39.8% | −41.1% | −60.5% | −64.4% | 14.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 40.1% | −33.6% | −53.6% | −0.7% | −28.5% | −150.5% | −79.4% | 13.7% |
| Current ratio | 5.94 | 4.95 | 4.88 | 4.23 | 4.46 | 6.12 | 4.79 | 4.06 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 1.9% | 1.9% | 7.9% | 2.6% | 3.8% | 3.5% | 2.6% | 0.9% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 4.5% | 4.5% | 16.4% | 6.2% | 9.0% | 12.8% | 13.0% | 3.9% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $116m of assets due within a year against $29m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $116m short-term assets against $33m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$32m against $150,000 of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Futurefuel's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 9 / 20
Net income has been a median 6.6% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 0 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 8.0%, moving by 15.6 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 2 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 8.6%; its worst year was -21.9%.
- Cash conversion 13 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 8 of 10 years, at a median 10.5% of revenue.
- Discipline 17 / 20
The diluted share count rose 0.5% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 0.5% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- NLI Holdings, Inc. statistics
- Gevo, Inc. statistics
- Arq, Inc. statistics
- Aemetis, Inc statistics
- Northern Technologies International Corp statistics
Head to head: FF vs NLFF vs GEVOARQ vs FF
More: Specialty Chemicals stocks compared, Materials sector, rankings of US companies