Ionis Pharmaceuticals Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Ionis Pharmaceuticals Inc had return on equity of -70.8%, an operating margin of -40.4%, debt equal to 370.6% of equity and a current ratio of 3.83. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 100.0% | 100.0% | 99.7% | 99.6% | 98.4% | 98.7% | 97.6% | 98.8% | 98.4% | 98.3% | 98.2% |
| Operating margin | −22.6% | −44.6% | −71.8% | −67.5% | −35.1% | −22.3% | −26.7% | −5.8% | 6.1% | −10.2% | 32.6% | −23.6% | −3.7% | −69.8% | −44.9% | −67.4% | −40.4% | −68.0% |
| Net margin | 127.5% | −56.5% | −85.6% | −64.2% | −41.2% | −18.2% | −31.1% | −17.4% | 0.1% | 45.6% | 24.8% | −60.9% | −3.5% | −45.9% | −46.5% | −64.4% | −40.4% | −64.7% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −100.2% | −70.8% | −126.2% | 0.4% | 42.1% | −0.6% | 4.7% | −34.4% | 27.5% | 98.3% | 28.0% | 0.1% | 2.3% | −49.4% | −42.1% | −77.5% | −33.9% | −64.2% |
| Return on equity | 53.2% | −22.8% | −40.8% | −37.0% | −21.6% | −12.3% | −38.5% | −40.2% | 0.2% | 41.2% | 22.1% | −40.1% | −3.8% | −40.1% | −76.3% | −93.1% | −70.8% | −121.7% |
| Return on assets | 23.6% | −10.1% | −16.4% | −12.7% | −8.7% | −4.3% | −9.3% | −6.5% | 0.0% | 13.7% | 9.4% | −15.8% | −1.1% | −10.5% | −13.3% | −15.1% | −11.7% | −17.3% |
| Asset turnover | 0.18 | 0.18 | 0.19 | 0.20 | 0.21 | 0.24 | 0.30 | 0.37 | 0.45 | 0.30 | 0.38 | 0.26 | 0.32 | 0.23 | 0.29 | 0.24 | 0.29 | 0.27 |
| Current ratio | 5.35 | 4.56 | 4.73 | 5.70 | 7.52 | 7.25 | 5.62 | 5.96 | 4.80 | 7.88 | 9.97 | 3.56 | 9.75 | 7.07 | 5.90 | 8.47 | 3.83 | 7.89 |
| Debt to equity | 44.3% | 63.1% | 104.3% | 81.5% | 40.9% | 61.4% | 0.3% | 503.9% | 190.3% | 55.5% | 53.5% | 114.1% | — | 208.5% | 338.4% | 213.0% | 370.6% | 313.9% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 0.7x | n/m | 29.4x | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 15.2% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 110.7% | 133.8% | 154.5% | 151.5% | 117.9% | 111.6% | 112.6% | 98.2% | 73.4% | 68.7% | 41.1% | 72.8% | 78.7% | — | 114.2% | 127.9% | 97.0% | — |
| SG&A as % of revenue | — | — | — | — | — | — | 13.1% | 14.0% | 21.4% | 40.8% | 25.5% | 48.6% | 23.0% | 25.6% | 29.5% | 37.9% | 41.7% | 60.4% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 11.0% | 12.2% | 10.3% | 1.4% | 1.1% | 3.5% | 2.7% | 2.1% | 6.8% | 2.3% | 2.8% | 4.8% | 1.5% | 2.7% | 3.0% | 6.4% | 5.5% | 7.4% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | −78.6% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | >999% | 215.3% | 113.2% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 10.9% | >999% | 0.0% | — | — | — | — | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 99.2% | 98.3% | 98.9% | 99.1% | 98.5% | 96.1% | 98.8% | 99.0% |
| Operating margin | −111.1% | −48.9% | −111.6% | 30.9% | −102.2% | −105.5% | −47.7% | −38.2% |
| Net margin | −105.0% | −46.1% | −111.6% | 27.3% | −82.1% | −112.8% | −37.6% | −42.8% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −92.7% | −62.5% | −124.1% | 30.8% | −87.2% | −78.2% | −331.0% | 205.1% |
| Current ratio | 8.91 | 8.47 | 9.66 | 2.87 | 2.79 | 3.83 | 4.10 | 7.89 |
| Debt to equity | — | 204.4% | — | — | — | 359.9% | — | — |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 46.1% | 38.9% | 57.9% | 20.0% | 61.8% | 64.0% | 61.1% | 56.1% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $2.5bn of assets due within a year against $316m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $2.5bn short-term assets against $2.2bn of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$594m against $19m of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Ionis Pharmaceuticals's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Net income has been a median -5.5% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 20 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 98.4%, moving by 0.7 percentage points (standard deviation) across 8 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -18.5%; its worst year was -74.8%.
- Cash conversion 8 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 5 of 10 years, at a median 5.2% of revenue.
- Discipline 3 / 20
The diluted share count rose 12.1% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 19.0% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (40 before it).
Compare with peers
- Ascendis Pharma A/s statistics
- Biocryst Pharmaceuticals Inc statistics
- Bridgebio Pharma, Inc. statistics
- Kiniksa Pharmaceuticals International, plc statistics
- Telix Pharmaceuticals Ltd statistics
Head to head: ASND vs IONSBCRX vs IONSBBIO vs IONSIONS vs KNSA
More: Biotechnology stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies