22nd Century Group, Inc. key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, 22nd Century Group, Inc. had return on equity of -51.1%, an operating margin of -65.8%, debt equal to 4.5% of equity and a current ratio of 2.42. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | — | — | — | 93.7% | 5.8% | −6.8% | −3.5% | −4.3% | 3.4% | 0.1% | — | — | — | — | 41.4% | 42.1% | 45.0% |
| Operating margin | <−999% | −371.0% | <−999% | 24.9% | <−999% | −141.3% | −92.7% | −80.1% | −90.9% | −91.2% | −68.2% | −91.8% | −83.0% | −139.5% | −57.2% | −65.8% | −85.0% |
| Net margin | <−999% | −133.8% | <−999% | −359.3% | <−999% | −129.5% | −94.3% | −78.5% | −30.1% | −102.8% | −70.1% | −105.4% | −147.7% | −437.1% | −62.2% | −28.7% | −27.0% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | — | — | — | 46.7% | <−999% | −85.9% | — | — | — | −58.5% | −55.8% | −76.2% | −136.7% | −185.2% | −59.4% | −44.3% | −60.3% |
| Return on equity | — | — | — | — | −137.1% | −81.9% | −64.2% | −26.1% | −10.9% | −39.8% | −37.1% | −59.2% | −73.8% | — | — | −51.1% | −22.8% |
| Return on assets | −50.8% | −52.2% | −267.6% | −350.3% | −91.1% | −54.7% | −50.3% | −24.3% | −10.1% | −36.3% | −32.7% | −51.1% | −62.7% | −198.1% | −61.7% | −20.8% | −14.8% |
| Asset turnover | 0.02 | 0.39 | 0.01 | 0.97 | 0.03 | 0.42 | 0.53 | 0.31 | 0.34 | 0.35 | 0.47 | 0.48 | 0.42 | 0.45 | 0.99 | 0.72 | 0.55 |
| Current ratio | 0.15 | 0.34 | 0.28 | 7.87 | 4.00 | 2.23 | 5.17 | 15.68 | 11.83 | 7.39 | 3.86 | 6.45 | 3.43 | 0.65 | 1.16 | 2.42 | 2.61 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | — | 0.0% | 6.1% | 5.3% | 1.3% | 0.0% | 2.2% | 1.4% | 1.9% | 0.9% | 4.1% | — | 166.1% | 4.5% | 3.8% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | n/m | n/m | 2.4x | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m |
| R&D as % of revenue | 730.7% | 207.3% | >999% | 10.2% | 230.0% | 18.4% | 19.1% | 20.3% | 56.7% | 31.2% | — | 12.6% | 8.8% | 8.2% | 4.6% | 3.9% | 6.0% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 49.9% | 32.5% | 50.1% | 53.3% | 83.7% | 79.6% | 96.5% | 42.2% | 43.2% | 58.5% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | — | — | — | 6.3% | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | — | — | 2.0% | 0.2% | 2.4% | 9.0% | 14.5% | 0.6% | 0.3% | 2.7% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 47.8% | 23.1% | 51.6% | 29.9% | 36.3% | 46.8% | 53.1% | 43.4% |
| Operating margin | −56.8% | −101.8% | −43.1% | −73.0% | −80.1% | −79.2% | −74.0% | −114.9% |
| Net margin | −63.2% | −113.3% | −72.7% | −83.4% | 136.8% | −79.4% | −79.4% | −116.8% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −51.2% | −109.4% | −50.1% | −85.9% | −100.3% | 77.3% | −76.6% | −150.8% |
| Current ratio | 1.09 | 1.16 | 0.68 | 0.77 | 2.17 | 2.42 | 2.67 | 2.61 |
| Debt to equity | 202.4% | 166.1% | 216.8% | 114.2% | — | 4.5% | — | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | 4.0% | 5.4% | 2.7% | 5.6% | 4.8% | 3.0% | 6.9% | 10.3% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 42.8% | 61.5% | 30.2% | 51.9% | 46.1% | 51.6% | 51.6% | 94.4% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $17m of assets due within a year against $6m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $17m short-term assets against $1m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$12m against $574,000 of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard 22nd Century Group's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Net income has been a median -33.8% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 0 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 0.7%, moving by 32.7 percentage points (standard deviation) across 8 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -86.5%; its worst year was -103.0%.
- Cash conversion 0 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 0 of 6 years, at a median -79.7% of revenue.
- Discipline 3 / 20
The diluted share count rose 138.3% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 7.7% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Low. In this industry, the business rests on physical assets, regulated networks or products AI itself depends on.
Compare with peers
- Turning Point Brands, Inc. statistics
- RLX Technology Inc. statistics
- Universal Corp statistics
- Altria statistics
- British American Tobacco P.l.c. statistics
Head to head: TPB vs XXIIRLX vs XXIIUVV vs XXII
More: Tobacco stocks compared, Consumer Staples sector, rankings of US companies