Ironwood Pharmaceuticals Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Ironwood Pharmaceuticals Inc had an operating margin of 33.3% and a current ratio of 1.13. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | — | — | — | 99.4% | 68.5% | 93.1% | 100.0% | 99.3% | 93.6% | 90.6% | 94.4% | 99.2% | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Operating margin | −177.2% | −138.6% | −100.4% | −48.4% | <−999% | −221.6% | −68.3% | −18.9% | −5.2% | −43.5% | 28.0% | 36.7% | 56.1% | 61.0% | −213.5% | 26.5% | 33.3% | 60.1% |
| Net margin | −207.4% | −120.8% | −98.5% | −48.3% | <−999% | −248.1% | −95.4% | −29.8% | −39.2% | −81.5% | 5.0% | 27.3% | 127.7% | 42.6% | −226.4% | 0.3% | 8.1% | 33.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −20.3% | −194.1% | −128.9% | −55.7% | <−999% | −208.2% | −74.2% | −11.0% | −34.7% | −20.5% | 0.8% | 42.9% | 63.2% | 66.6% | 41.4% | 29.4% | 42.9% | 47.7% |
| Return on equity | — | — | −48.1% | −57.2% | — | — | −155.3% | −101.0% | — | — | — | — | 158.1% | 27.8% | — | — | — | — |
| Return on assets | — | −17.6% | −25.4% | −33.1% | −107.2% | −62.3% | −30.1% | −12.3% | −17.8% | −60.2% | 5.9% | 22.1% | 62.7% | 15.7% | −127.5% | 0.2% | 6.4% | 38.1% |
| Asset turnover | — | 0.15 | 0.26 | 0.68 | 0.09 | 0.25 | 0.32 | 0.41 | 0.45 | 0.74 | 1.17 | 0.81 | 0.49 | 0.37 | 0.56 | 0.85 | 0.79 | 1.14 |
| Current ratio | — | 4.02 | 2.57 | 3.36 | 5.58 | 4.76 | 6.54 | 4.17 | 4.72 | 2.23 | 7.50 | 15.41 | 4.61 | 30.58 | 0.84 | 4.69 | 1.13 | 6.06 |
| Debt to equity | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 457.0% | 191.3% | 352.9% | 198.2% | >999% | — | — | 686.9% | 75.0% | 63.3% | — | — | — | — |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 3.3x | 4.8x | 7.5x | 32.9x | n/m | 2.8x | 3.0x | 7.2x |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | 2.5% | — | 30.6% | — | 98.7% | 65.7% | 37.4% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 221.7% | 176.6% | 130.7% | 75.5% | 447.4% | 133.3% | 72.7% | 50.9% | 29.6% | 29.2% | 26.9% | 22.6% | 17.0% | 10.8% | 26.2% | 31.7% | 32.1% | 22.8% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | — | 61.9% | 69.7% | 61.6% | 538.6% | 154.8% | 83.7% | 63.3% | 77.5% | 63.4% | 40.3% | 35.9% | 26.9% | 28.3% | 35.8% | 41.1% | 27.8% | 16.6% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 10.3% | 39.3% | 14.7% | 9.3% | 41.9% | 4.6% | 2.7% | 1.5% | 0.9% | 0.1% | 1.7% | 0.5% | 0.1% | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 16.4% | 157.3% | 49.5% | 156.3% | — | >999% | 528.8% | 142.9% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 9.2% | 46.2% | — | — | — | — |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Operating margin | 28.0% | 34.8% | −70.7% | 53.2% | 61.8% | 14.3% | 68.1% | 70.2% |
| Net margin | 4.0% | 2.5% | −90.9% | 27.7% | 32.8% | −4.8% | 38.3% | 45.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 10.8% | 16.8% | 48.4% | −17.7% | 39.0% | 156.3% | — | 51.6% |
| Current ratio | 3.62 | 4.69 | 3.34 | 0.82 | 1.13 | 1.13 | 1.41 | 6.06 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 32.6% | 28.0% | 66.7% | 27.4% | 18.4% | 45.8% | 20.6% | 19.8% |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 39.4% | 37.1% | 59.0% | 19.7% | 17.9% | 40.4% | 11.3% | 10.0% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $199m of assets due within a year against $33m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $199m short-term assets against $414m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $234m against $33m of interest.
Moat
Weak moat
How hard Ironwood Pharmaceuticals's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 0 / 20
Net income has been a median 0.0% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 15 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 94.0%, moving by 7.2 percentage points (standard deviation) across 6 years.
- Durability 8 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 26.1%; its worst year was -207.4%.
- Cash conversion 9 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 6 of 10 years, at a median 5.3% of revenue.
- Discipline 4 / 20
The diluted share count rose 15.2% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 7.9% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (36 before it).
Compare with peers
- Innoviva, Inc. statistics
- Xeris Biopharma Holdings, Inc. statistics
- Evolus, Inc. statistics
- Harrow, Inc. statistics
- Alvotech statistics
Head to head: INVA vs IRWDIRWD vs XERSEOLS vs IRWD
More: Pharmaceuticals stocks compared, Health Care sector, rankings of US companies