Usana Health Sciences Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Usana Health Sciences Inc had return on equity of 2.0%, an operating margin of 4.0%, debt equal to 2.6% of equity and a current ratio of 2.24. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Jan 2010 | 2010Jan 2011 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Jan 2015 | 2015Jan 2016 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Jan 2021 | 2021Jan 2022 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Jan 2026 | LTMJul 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 79.4% | 81.6% | 82.5% | 82.1% | 82.3% | 82.2% | 82.6% | 82.1% | 82.9% | 83.1% | 82.3% | 81.6% | 81.6% | 80.6% | 80.8% | 81.1% | 78.3% | 77.4% |
| Operating margin | 11.6% | 13.2% | 13.3% | 15.1% | 16.3% | 14.7% | 15.4% | 13.8% | 12.7% | 15.8% | 13.8% | 15.6% | 14.3% | 10.8% | 10.1% | 7.8% | 4.0% | −0.1% |
| Net margin | 7.7% | 8.8% | 8.7% | 10.2% | 11.0% | 9.7% | 10.3% | 9.9% | 6.0% | 10.6% | 9.5% | 11.0% | 9.8% | 6.9% | 6.9% | 4.9% | 1.2% | −2.4% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 6.5% | 12.0% | 10.2% | 13.0% | 12.6% | 10.7% | 9.6% | 10.4% | 10.6% | 11.8% | 10.4% | 12.8% | 9.1% | 9.4% | 6.1% | 6.0% | 0.9% | 1.7% |
| Return on equity | 45.1% | 41.3% | 31.6% | 37.0% | 35.4% | 31.2% | 37.1% | 33.0% | 18.2% | 33.5% | 27.1% | 31.4% | 27.8% | 16.7% | 13.7% | 8.2% | 2.0% | −4.2% |
| Return on assets | — | 21.1% | 22.0% | 26.0% | 24.9% | 21.3% | 24.5% | 22.4% | 12.6% | 23.5% | 18.8% | 21.5% | 19.1% | 11.8% | 10.4% | 6.1% | 1.4% | −3.1% |
| Asset turnover | — | 2.39 | 2.52 | 2.53 | 2.26 | 2.20 | 2.37 | 2.25 | 2.12 | 2.22 | 1.98 | 1.96 | 1.95 | 1.70 | 1.50 | 1.24 | 1.24 | 1.26 |
| Current ratio | — | 1.38 | 1.78 | 1.87 | 2.39 | 1.76 | 1.86 | 2.01 | 2.41 | 2.64 | 2.42 | 2.53 | 2.27 | 2.67 | 3.52 | 2.00 | 2.24 | 2.66 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.2% | 4.3% | 2.6% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | 83.4x | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 44.5x | n/m |
| Effective tax rate | 34.2% | 33.7% | 34.5% | 32.5% | 32.2% | 33.7% | 33.6% | 27.8% | 53.6% | 34.1% | 33.2% | 29.9% | 31.7% | 36.2% | 37.7% | 44.9% | 72.4% | — |
| R&D as % of revenue | — | 0.7% | 0.7% | 0.7% | 0.7% | 0.6% | 0.7% | 0.9% | 0.9% | 0.9% | 1.0% | 0.9% | 0.9% | 1.2% | 1.2% | 1.4% | 1.2% | — |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 22.9% | 23.3% | 23.6% | 23.8% | 23.1% | 23.3% | 22.8% | 23.3% | 25.3% | 23.1% | 25.2% | 23.0% | 23.5% | 26.3% | 27.9% | 30.8% | 36.5% | 36.6% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.9% | 0.8% | 1.8% | 1.3% | 1.1% | 2.6% | 2.6% | 3.3% | 1.3% | 1.0% | 1.6% | 1.3% | 1.1% | 1.0% | 1.6% | 1.2% | 1.5% | 1.3% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | 84.5% | 135.6% | 117.2% | 127.0% | 115.0% | 110.6% | 92.7% | 104.2% | 176.8% | 111.5% | 109.6% | 116.6% | 93.1% | 134.8% | 88.0% | 121.1% | 79.2% | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | 5.8% | 27.5% | 56.3% | 80.9% | 19.9% | 163.8% | 69.7% | 62.0% | 45.2% | 74.9% | 136.2% | 39.2% | 164.0% | 27.1% | 20.7% | 18.5% | 322.6% | 0.0% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Jan 2026 | 2026 Q1Apr 2026 | 2026 Q2Jul 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 80.4% | 82.0% | 79.0% | 78.7% | 77.2% | 78.2% | 76.2% | 78.3% |
| Operating margin | 7.8% | 3.8% | 6.3% | 7.1% | 0.6% | 1.7% | 5.5% | −9.0% |
| Net margin | 5.3% | 2.1% | 3.8% | 4.1% | −3.1% | −0.8% | 3.0% | −9.6% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 13.6% | 1.9% | 5.1% | 3.0% | −2.4% | −2.7% | 2.8% | 9.0% |
| Current ratio | 3.93 | 2.00 | 2.05 | 2.15 | 2.23 | 2.24 | 2.51 | 2.66 |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 30.6% | 34.3% | 36.6% | 34.7% | 40.2% | 34.5% | 35.3% | 36.9% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $281m of assets due within a year against $106m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $281m short-term assets against $27m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of −$1m against $412,000 of interest.
Moat
Strong moat
How hard Usana Health Sciences's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 20 / 20
Net income has been a median 15.0% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 20 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 81.4%, moving by 1.6 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 3 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 12.8%; its worst year was -0.1%.
- Cash conversion 14 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 10 of 10 years, at a median 8.8% of revenue.
- Discipline 20 / 20
The diluted share count fell 12.3% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 1.5% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (78 before it).
Compare with peers
- Oddity Tech Ltd statistics
- NU Skin Enterprises, Inc. statistics
- Interparfums Inc statistics
- Natures Sunshine Products Inc statistics
- E.l.f. Beauty, Inc. statistics
Head to head: ODD vs USNANUS vs USNAIPAR vs USNANATR vs USNA
More: Personal Care Products stocks compared, Consumer Staples sector, rankings of US companies