Natures Sunshine Products Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Natures Sunshine Products Inc had return on equity of 12.1%, an operating margin of 5.2%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 2.28. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2009Dec 2009 | 2010Dec 2010 | 2011Dec 2011 | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 80.0% | 74.5% | 75.7% | 74.7% | 75.0% | 75.0% | 73.7% | 73.3% | 73.4% | 73.8% | 74.1% | 73.7% | 74.0% | 71.0% | 72.1% | 71.5% | 72.4% | 73.2% |
| Operating margin | 3.6% | 3.2% | 5.5% | 9.4% | 6.4% | 5.2% | 4.3% | 2.9% | 0.4% | 1.5% | 4.5% | 5.6% | 7.8% | 3.9% | 4.2% | 4.4% | 5.2% | 6.0% |
| Net margin | 1.8% | −0.4% | 4.8% | 7.0% | 4.8% | 2.7% | 4.5% | 0.6% | −3.8% | −0.2% | 1.9% | 5.5% | 6.5% | −0.1% | 3.4% | 1.7% | 4.1% | 3.7% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −0.7% | 3.9% | 0.4% | 5.5% | 5.6% | −3.3% | −3.8% | −2.2% | 1.5% | 4.7% | 0.9% | 8.5% | 6.3% | −1.6% | 6.9% | 3.2% | 6.0% | 3.7% |
| Return on equity | 10.7% | −2.0% | 22.6% | 25.0% | 15.9% | 8.6% | 11.1% | 1.6% | −10.3% | −0.7% | 5.4% | 14.9% | 18.1% | −0.3% | 9.8% | 4.8% | 12.1% | 10.9% |
| Return on assets | — | −0.8% | 10.5% | 13.7% | 8.9% | 5.1% | 7.4% | 1.1% | −6.5% | −0.4% | 3.3% | 9.2% | 11.4% | −0.2% | 6.3% | 3.1% | 7.8% | 6.9% |
| Asset turnover | — | 2.19 | 2.19 | 1.95 | 1.88 | 1.85 | 1.63 | 1.68 | 1.71 | 1.88 | 1.78 | 1.67 | 1.75 | 1.73 | 1.86 | 1.85 | 1.91 | 1.89 |
| Current ratio | — | 1.63 | 1.85 | 2.37 | 2.17 | 2.09 | 1.91 | 1.50 | 1.91 | 1.60 | 1.95 | 2.21 | 2.15 | 2.28 | 2.16 | 2.44 | 2.28 | 2.60 |
| Debt to equity | 0.0% | 0.0% | 10.5% | 4.9% | 11.7% | 0.0% | 4.0% | 15.0% | 11.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 2.4% | 1.5% | 1.6% | 0.0% | — | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | — | — | 190.3x | 102.1x | 101.9x | 106.7x | — | 4.8x | 13.8x | — | — | 138.7x | 65.3x | — | 137.6x | — | — |
| Effective tax rate | 55.6% | 39.5% | 20.0% | 29.7% | 31.0% | −3.9% | 13.1% | 92.7% | — | — | 55.7% | −0.6% | 5.1% | 96.4% | 18.7% | 57.2% | 31.4% | 34.8% |
| R&D as % of revenue | — | 0.6% | 0.4% | 0.4% | 0.5% | 0.7% | 0.9% | 0.9% | 1.0% | 0.8% | 0.6% | 0.4% | 0.3% | 0.4% | 0.4% | 0.4% | 0.4% | — |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 39.5% | 34.0% | 29.8% | 29.0% | 32.0% | 32.7% | 33.2% | 35.3% | 37.9% | 37.9% | 35.5% | 34.1% | 34.7% | 36.3% | 37.5% | 36.1% | 37.2% | 37.1% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.9% | 0.7% | 0.7% | 1.8% | 2.3% | 7.2% | 6.9% | 3.2% | 1.6% | 1.3% | 1.4% | 1.3% | 1.5% | 1.8% | 2.4% | 2.4% | 1.3% | 1.9% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | −37.4% | — | 8.5% | 78.9% | 118.2% | −120.8% | −84.2% | −355.8% | — | — | 50.9% | 153.5% | 96.8% | — | 204.0% | 186.2% | 147.7% | 99.9% |
| Dividends ÷ net income | 12.7% | — | — | 9.3% | 172.7% | 351.6% | 51.0% | 351.1% | — | — | — | 0.0% | 68.8% | — | — | — | — | — |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | 11.7% | 158.4% | — | — | — | 36.8% | 0.0% | — | 0.0% | 97.6% | — | 20.8% | 61.8% | 56.5% | 36.0% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 71.3% | 72.0% | 72.1% | 71.7% | 73.3% | 72.5% | 73.2% | 73.7% |
| Operating margin | 4.6% | 3.8% | 5.5% | 3.7% | 7.0% | 4.3% | 7.8% | 4.7% |
| Net margin | 3.8% | −0.3% | 4.2% | 4.6% | 4.2% | 3.3% | 4.2% | 3.0% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 6.9% | 8.5% | 1.3% | 2.6% | 13.1% | 6.1% | −3.5% | −1.7% |
| Current ratio | 2.44 | 2.44 | 2.41 | 2.27 | 2.22 | 2.28 | 2.50 | 2.60 |
| SG&A as % of revenue | 35.7% | 37.0% | 35.8% | 38.1% | 35.6% | 39.1% | 35.4% | 38.4% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $178m of assets due within a year against $69m of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $178m short-term assets against $22m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $29m against $141,000 of interest.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard Natures Sunshine Products's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 20 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 63.8% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 20 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 73.2%, moving by 0.9 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 2 / 20
Operating margin has been a median 4.7%; its worst year was 0.7%.
- Cash conversion 11 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 9 of 10 years, at a median 4.0% of revenue.
- Discipline 20 / 20
The diluted share count fell 11.0% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 1.0% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: Medium. In this industry, AI could change how the product is made or sold, without replacing the core asset. The score above includes a 5-point deduction for that exposure (73 before it).
Compare with peers
- Honest Company, Inc. statistics
- Oddity Tech Ltd statistics
- Usana Health Sciences Inc statistics
- Lifevantage Corp statistics
- NU Skin Enterprises, Inc. statistics
Head to head: HNST vs NATRNATR vs ODDNATR vs USNALFVN vs NATR
More: Personal Care Products stocks compared, Consumer Staples sector, rankings of US companies