Hubspot Inc key statistics and ratios
In fiscal 2025, Hubspot Inc had return on equity of 2.3%, an operating margin of 0.2%, debt equal to 0.0% of equity and a current ratio of 1.67. Each ratio below is calculated from the figures on its income statement, balance sheet and cash flow pages.
Financial ratios
| Fiscal year | 2012Dec 2012 | 2013Dec 2013 | 2014Dec 2014 | 2015Dec 2015 | 2016Dec 2016 | 2017Dec 2017 | 2018Dec 2018 | 2019Dec 2019 | 2020Dec 2020 | 2021Dec 2021 | 2022Dec 2022 | 2023Dec 2023 | 2024Dec 2024 | 2025Dec 2025 | LTMJun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 67.4% | 64.6% | 69.7% | 73.7% | 77.2% | 79.8% | 80.4% | 80.7% | 81.1% | 80.1% | 82.2% | 84.4% | 85.0% | 83.8% | 83.2% |
| Operating margin | — | −44.1% | −41.9% | −25.5% | −16.5% | −10.7% | −9.4% | −7.0% | −5.8% | −4.2% | −5.9% | −9.3% | −2.6% | 0.2% | 3.8% |
| Net margin | −36.4% | −44.1% | −41.6% | −25.3% | −16.8% | −10.6% | −12.4% | −8.0% | −9.6% | −6.0% | −6.2% | −7.6% | 0.2% | 1.5% | 4.3% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | −11.9% | −31.1% | −17.0% | −4.9% | 1.3% | 7.8% | 12.2% | 11.6% | 5.8% | 16.1% | 13.6% | 14.6% | 21.3% | 22.6% | 23.1% |
| Return on equity | — | — | — | −39.6% | −37.9% | −24.1% | −28.1% | −12.0% | −12.0% | −9.5% | −11.5% | −14.1% | 0.3% | 2.3% | 7.9% |
| Return on assets | — | −67.8% | −42.8% | −23.3% | −19.0% | −8.2% | −8.3% | −4.5% | −4.8% | −3.8% | −4.5% | −5.9% | 0.1% | 1.2% | 4.0% |
| Asset turnover | — | 1.54 | 1.03 | 0.92 | 1.13 | 0.77 | 0.66 | 0.56 | 0.50 | 0.63 | 0.73 | 0.77 | 0.77 | 0.82 | 0.94 |
| Current ratio | — | 0.73 | 2.52 | 1.60 | 1.38 | 3.38 | 3.01 | 3.44 | 3.27 | 2.35 | 2.33 | 1.99 | 1.67 | 1.67 | 1.38 |
| Debt to equity | — | — | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% | 141.9% | 130.3% | 52.4% | 62.8% | 46.2% | — | 0.0% | 24.0% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Interest cover (operating income ÷ interest) | — | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | n/m | 8.4x | — |
| Effective tax rate | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 83.9% | 33.9% | 15.4% |
| R&D as % of revenue | 20.5% | 19.3% | 22.1% | 17.8% | 17.0% | 18.7% | 22.9% | 23.4% | 23.3% | 23.2% | 25.5% | 28.5% | 29.6% | 28.9% | 26.3% |
| Capital spending as % of revenue | 0.6% | 5.6% | 6.3% | 4.6% | 5.8% | 5.4% | 4.3% | 6.0% | 4.2% | 2.2% | 2.2% | 1.6% | 1.4% | 1.7% | 1.7% |
| Free cash flow ÷ net income | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | >999% | >999% | 543.1% |
| Dividends and buybacks ÷ free cash flow | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | 70.7% | 140.2% |
| Quarter | 2024 Q3Sept 2024 | 2024 Q4Dec 2024 | 2025 Q1Mar 2025 | 2025 Q2Jun 2025 | 2025 Q3Sept 2025 | 2025 Q4Dec 2025 | 2026 Q1Mar 2026 | 2026 Q2Jun 2026 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross margin | 85.2% | 85.3% | 83.9% | 83.9% | 83.5% | 83.7% | 83.5% | 82.4% |
| Operating margin | −1.4% | −1.5% | −3.8% | −3.2% | 1.4% | 5.7% | 3.2% | 4.8% |
| Net margin | 1.2% | 0.7% | −3.1% | −0.4% | 2.0% | 6.4% | 3.7% | 4.8% |
| Free-cash-flow margin | 22.2% | 25.8% | 20.8% | 19.5% | 21.9% | 27.6% | 20.8% | 22.3% |
| Current ratio | 1.64 | 1.67 | 1.66 | 1.79 | 1.61 | 1.67 | 1.61 | 1.38 |
| R&D as % of revenue | 28.5% | 30.4% | 30.8% | 31.2% | 28.1% | 26.1% | 26.6% | 24.8% |
Financial health
- Short-term assets cover short-term liabilities $2.1bn of assets due within a year against $1.5bn of liabilities due within a year.
- Short-term assets cover long-term liabilities $2.1bn short-term assets against $304m of longer-dated liabilities.
- More cash than debt Cash or debt not separately reported. Not assessable.
- Debt below 40% of shareholders' equity Equity or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Debt burden no higher than five years ago Five-year comparison not available. Not assessable.
- A year's operating cash flow covers at least 20% of debt Cash flow or debt not reported. Not assessable.
- Operating profit covers interest at least five times over Operating income of $131m against $644,000 of interest.
Moat
Moderate moat
How hard Hubspot's competitive advantage looks for rivals to wear away, judged from 10 years of its own filings: returns on capital, pricing power, profit durability, cash conversion and discipline.
- Returns on capital 19 / 20
Cash operating profit has been a median 14.4% of total assets over 10 years.
- Pricing power 20 / 20
Gross margin has been a median 80.8%, moving by 2.0 percentage points (standard deviation) across 10 years.
- Durability 10 / 20
Operating margin has been a median -6.1%; its worst year was -13.3%.
- Cash conversion 17 / 20
Free cash flow was positive in 10 of 10 years, at a median 14.4% of revenue.
- Discipline 2 / 20
The diluted share count rose 14.2% over five years; stock-based pay has been a median 14.6% of revenue.
AI disruption exposure: High. In this industry, the core product is information work that AI systems increasingly perform. The score above includes a 15-point deduction for that exposure (68 before it).
Compare with peers
- Grab Holdings Ltd statistics
- Docusign, Inc. statistics
- Trimble Inc. statistics
- Datadog, Inc. statistics
- Trade Desk, Inc. statistics
Head to head: GRAB vs HUBSDOCU vs HUBSHUBS vs TRMBDDOG vs HUBS
More: Application Software stocks compared, Technology sector, rankings of US companies